PKR Sarawak roots for Azmin as deputy president

Most of the more than 54,000 registered members of Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) Sarawak will be rooting for Minister of Economic Affairs Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali to be elected the party’s national deputy president.

Azmin, who is also former Selangor Menteri Besar, is expected to win the PKR deputy-president post if PKR Sarawak stalwart Baharrudin Mokhsen’s prediction has anything to go by.

Baharrudin said he is confident that the majority of Sabah PKR members would vote for Azmin.

Sabah, which has more than 145,000 PKR members eligible to vote, will hold its party election on Nov 3 and 4, involving 25 divisions; while Sarawak, with about 54,000 members eligible to hold its election on Nov 10, involving 29 divisions.

The comment by Baharrudin, who is PKR Petra Jaya chairman, is supported by Sarawak PKR Youth information chief Saifunnizam Sam and one of PKR Sibu division chairmen Abdul Rafidin Majidi, PKR Petra Jaya treasurer Nurhanim Hanna Mohksen, and PKR Julau division chairman candidate Semana Sawang.

The rest of PKR Sarawak leaders, when contacted, declined to comment or kept mum for the sake of diplomacy.

When contacted yesterday, Baharrudin said: “If it’s left to Sarawak only, most of the votes will go to Azmin. It has always been Azmin.

With Sabah and Sarawak being the remaining states yet to hold their elections, the votes will determine whether Azmin or Rafizi gets to be PKR’s deputy president.

With all 12 states (except Kuala Selangor which has been rescheduled) having completed their polls, Azmin is ahead with 46,759 votes over Rafizi’s 45,112 votes.

However Rafizi, , who is former Pandan MP, failed to get the majority votes from members in the division for the post of deputy president when only 508 members voted for him, while Azmin obtained 715 votes.

According to PKR information chief Vernon Kedit, the party is using the ‘one member, one vote’ principle and the e-voting process for the election of office-bearers at the national-level.

He said 12 individuals would vie for the four vice-president posts of the PKR national supreme council, and 88 for the 20 PKR national supreme council member posts.

Among the 88 candidates vying for 20 PKR national supreme council member posts are Larry, Saratok MP Ali Biju, Puncak Borneo MP Willie Mongin and PKR Women national vice chairman Voon Shiak Ni.

PKR has over 800,000 registered members nationwide.

You may also like